Welcome to our school website.

Why do we use the International Primary Curriculum (IPC)?

We know that successful learning involves transferring information and knowledge from the working memory into our long-term memory and being able to retrieve them again. This can be achieved by introducing new learning and consolidating existing learning. It is for this reason that we all start our new year with an age-appropriate study of our brains and the way they work.

Our curriculum uses the concept of self-reflection of learning which is essentially metacognition - where learning is improved through learner reflection on what they are learning, how they are learning and how learning can be improved. 

The majority of the National Curriculum subjects are taught through themed units which can range from only a few weeks to an entire term. We have found that when children learn using a thematic approach, strong links are made and greater, deeper learning can be achieved. RE (statutory subject) is taught in standalone units across each of the key world religions. More information on this can be found on the RE curriculum page.


What do our children learn at Ravenswood Primary School?

Below are the links to each of the units of work taught in the different year groups. Click on the name of the unit to download the plans. Each unit is mapped against the National Curriculum ensuring full coverage, depth and breath of learning. The IPC units form the basis of the learning in class. Each teacher will adapt them for their individual class to take into consideration personal interests and the skills and knowledge required for the children. 


How do we structure our learning?

We structure all of our learning in the same way; we always start with the 'Entry point'. This starting session provides an exciting introduction to the learning that is to follow and promote curiosity from within the children. The 'entry point' could last for an hour or could last for a long or longer. It could also begin with a visit or trip. This session is to activate the links to any previous knowledge the children have. 

The second part is the 'Knowledge harvest'. This offers the children the opportunity to demonstrate what they already know about the themes they are studying. The teacher then uses this information to guide their planning and differentiate the learning to come. 

Information is then shared with our children during 'Explaining the theme'. It is here that we share how the learning will progress and which subject learning is connected to the theme. It is similar to sign-posting so the children can link their previous knowledge, skills and understanding. 

Throughout the unit the children will 'Research, record and reflect'. It is this structure that the children will use for all of their learning; it becomes the familiar structure for children to extend and connect their learning. 

At the end of every unit of work we have an 'Exit point'. This is where the children strengthen the connections they have made and celebrate the learning that has taken place. The exit point allows the children the opportunity to reflect on their learning and consolidate into their long-term memory. We also use the 'Exit point' to share our journey with our families and the wider school community.


Year 1 IPC Topics

Brainwave: The brainSensationalTime travellersFrom A to BWe are what we eat and Treasure Islands

Year 2 IPC Topics

Brainwave: MetacognitionWhat's it made of? in conjunction with Art: ColourHow are you?Green Fingers in conjunction with Art: NaturePeople of the pastThe Earth: Our home


Year 3 IPC TopicsIsland Life, How humans work, Explorers and adventurers, Scavengers and Settlers and Let's plant it!

Year 4 IPC Topics - Saving the world, Bright Sparks, Shake it!, Turn it up! and Temples, tombs and treasures.

Year 5 IPC Topics - The great, the bold, the brave!, Mission to Mars, Bake it! What a wonderful world and Growing up.

Year 6 IPC Topics - Earth as an island, Full Power, Look Hear!, AD 900, Being human and Out of Africa.